Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 07-14-2014, 02:59 PM
LawnSite Member

What should i do?

i have a lawn that by the sides of the driveway, there is no grass and only weeds for about 2 by 10 feet, twice because on both sides of the driveway. The rest of the grass is good. I dont want to put down sod just in one spot because it wont look the same and would make a weird noticable strip. Could i kill the grass and weeds and then rake it all out. Then place seed and soil down?
im new to the business and i usually only mow lawns.
Old 07-14-2014, 03:12 PM
LawnSite Member

heres video https://plus.google.com/106936346410...ts/gYeP7aFukbP
Old 07-14-2014, 03:45 PM
Sponsor

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonpaul View Post
i have a lawn that by the sides of the driveway, there is no grass and only weeds for about 2 by 10 feet, twice because on both sides of the driveway. The rest of the grass is good. I dont want to put down sod just in one spot because it wont look the same and would make a weird noticable strip. Could i kill the grass and weeds and then rake it all out. Then place seed and soil down?
im new to the business and i usually only mow lawns.
yes you could try that.
easy-lift guy
Old 07-14-2014, 03:57 PM
LawnSite Member

ty sir, much appreciated
Old 07-14-2014, 04:40 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Maybe try liquid weed killer / grass fertilizer just my two cents.
Old 07-15-2014, 02:17 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Hard to see exactly, because the video is kinda shaky. I'd rather have a nice clear photo from down low.

But it looks to me like there is still some grass in that area, in addition to the broadleaf weeds.

So in this case you just use a broadleaf herbicide like Trimec Classic or Speedzone. Those are designed to kill broadleaf weeds but not hurt turfgrass. Follow this instructions and it should take care of the broadleaf. Don't water the area for 24 hours after applying the broadleaf herbicide.