Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 07-14-2014, 10:45 PM
LawnSite Member

Newbie-Summer Fertilizer Suggestion & Irrigation Time?

Hi all,

I am a newbie, looking for a nice green thick lawn.
I just bought a home on a 0.4 acre lot. The lawn was patchy in places and didn't look good after the New England winter, patchy bald areas, hard soil, bumpy!

In April I did a core aeration, top dressing with fertile topsoil, and overseeded the bald areas. I applied Lesco starter fertilizer to initiate the new grass.

Recently, I wasn't watering much, as I say im a newbie and trying to figure this out, but with the weather over the last two weeks the bald spots have reappeared and the garden is almost as bad as it was. A lot of the bald areas never took to the new seed, probably because I seeded a bit too late and didnt water enough....

So my question is, what is the best fertilizer I can use to feed my lawn and get it thick and green????

Also, how much time per station should I set my sprinklers to?

I am also planning a 3 weekly Jerry Baker summer lawn feed, ie beer can, detergent, ammonia, and corn oil/molasses...

Any thoughts or advice????

I had a colleague suggest Sustane, he didnt mention which one, good??
Old 07-15-2014, 07:45 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

The view of soil fertility is what you may want to rethink... the money involved of multiple applications of fertilizer for instant reults have driven the lawn industry to look at grass as something that will respond to the correct 'application' of one thing or another which is why these Jerry Baker things are actually taken seriously...
Soil fertility doesn't fluctuate much at all and your starter fert is probably still dissolving in the soil since you haven't had enough rain to use it up... more fert is not what your grass needs if water is lacking... keep the soil moist but not compacted with excess water and overseed again next month as the Summer cools into Fall...