Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 07-19-2014, 12:18 PM
LawnSite Member

What Is Fair Pay for Me/What should I demand

Hey everyone, new to the board, looking for some input from other industry pros on what I should be demanding as compensation. I'm thinking I'm drastically underpaid but I wanted to see what others felt like they would be paying me if I worked for you/what I should be demanding.

1st:
-I've been working at this company since 2006.
-I am a fully certified class 3b in Indiana applicator. Basically I can be on my own with no supervision necessary.
-our company has 630 customers, I estimate around 160K gross a year but i dont know.
-i personally oversee with no assistence probably 300-325 of those lawns some ranging from $45 ea. app to 450 ea app.

Here is my problem. I am paid hourly $15.85, no overtime(he holds any overtime hrs for a week where it rains and then pays me for those hrs then). I make about $18K a year and am laid off in the winter. No health insurance, no 401K, they do pay for my cell phone bill and I get an abstract "bonus" when certain things are kept up on like appearance, trailer cleanliness and quality work, but its not concrete what I get. Sometimes if we do a 1 time app and the person pays cash they just tell me to keep the cash.

Basically I was willing to put up w/ the low pay for yrs b/c i was under the understanding that i would buy the business from the owner when he retires, which would be now or in the next year or 2. But now his son has decided he wants it and has come in and essentially become my boss even though he's only been there for 2 years. I like what i do but as i do some research I feel grossly undervalued for what I do, and wonder what it is that I am worth basically, or what I should demand if I'm going to stay, which anymore I'm not sure i want to do. Again, I live in Indiana if that means anything.

Thanks
Old 07-19-2014, 12:58 PM
LawnSite Platinum Member

Quote: