Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-02-2014, 07:45 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Single Axle Dump Trailer?

Wondering if anyone uses or has any thoughts on a single axle dump trailer? I know most people will say go bigger, but I am a solo operator who does mainly small residential maintenance and gardening. I currently have a 5x10 open trailer that gets used for everything (mowing 3 days a week, pruning jobs, mulch/topsoil, clean-ups, etc.) There would be times when having a dump trailer would come in handy, especially in the fall or when I take debris to the dump. I have though about getting a dump trailer and enclosed trailer, the dump for random jobs and hauling stuff and the enclosed to mowing only. I'm looking into a single axle because I don't need a ton of capacity or payload and also would like to stay under the threshold for getting commercial stickers and inspections in my area, also I have a chevy 1500 pickup and see way too many guys pulling big 3-5 ton dump trailers with their new eco boost ford 1500 series and I know they are just killing their trucks. Again just looking to hear from small companies who may use one.
Old 09-02-2014, 07:55 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Eco boost are reading for 12k pounds or something like that

I wouldn't get a single axle dump trailer either way
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 09-02-2014, 08:52 PM
LawnSite Senior Member