Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-29-2003, 09:11 PM
LawnSite Member

Echo trimmers

hey guys i am just starting out this year and am in the market for a trimmer. i have heard several people talk about echo trimmers and was wondering if the echo 210 is going to be good enough to start out with.any input or advice is apreciated greatly thanks Cuttingedge2k3NY
Old 03-29-2003, 09:22 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I have 210,my son uses it,its light,but its underpowered.The next size up,230 is much better,also light,but more power about 40 bucks more but worth it.Lesco sells a kaw23 for 230.00,I like it better than both my echos.
Old 03-30-2003, 08:49 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

What about vibration? Shaft drive or cable?

http://www.pr-fectlawn.com
Old 03-31-2003, 07:50 PM
LawnSite Member

We run all Echo line Trimmers and love them. We use the flex shaft and run the 260s. I would not recommend any lower model. Spend the extra money and get more power, it will pay off in the long run. Around here they run around $270. If can't aford that get the most you can.
Old 03-31-2003, 11:06 PM
LawnSite Member

Going to buy a new Echo 260 on Tuesday, really like the extra power of the 310 but the added weight will not be worth the price and small increase in power not to mention extra fatigue at the end of the day. The 260 series has a dry weight similar to the 210's. One other thing to think about keep all your 2-cycle power units from the same company (sthil,echo,deer,scandavia etc.)
so you can carry only one gas-oil mix container for all the units. You will need to use their oil to keep warranty valid for any service in the future.
Old 04-03-2003, 11:52 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Echo