Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-23-2003, 11:02 AM
turfcare's Avatar
turfcare turfcare is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Winchester, TN
Posts: 276
My FS-85 Trimmer starts usually on the second or third pull. You just have to figure the right combination using the choke. Best trimmer I have ever used by far.
__________________
Lawnscape
Professional Lawn Care
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-23-2003, 11:30 AM
yacht yacht is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: central pa
Posts: 101
Jimbo - Thanks for the reply. Do you slide the switch to the "start" setting when you start your machine? I thought that just kept the throttle at "full" and I can do that with the opposite hand when I start the machine. I am using the Stihl mix. Also, do you prime it even though you see gas in the bulb? My old trimmer I didn't have to do that. Thanks again


ps I think you're right gravelyman.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-23-2003, 12:07 PM
lawncare3's Avatar
lawncare3 lawncare3 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: DENVER ,CO
Posts: 1,983
I use 83 octane and it works fine. I didn't really think havein 92 or 99 octane would make that much of a difference.


I will try it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-23-2003, 12:22 PM
Jimbo Jimbo is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Central Maryland
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Jimbo - Thanks for the reply. Do you slide the switch to the "start" setting when you start your machine? I thought that just kept the throttle at "full" and I can do that with the opposite hand when I start the machine. I am using the Stihl mix. Also, do you prime it even though you see gas in the bulb? My old trimmer I didn't have to do that. Thanks again
Yes, I slide the switch to start. Thats what I was referring to when I wrote "Turn it on".
Never try to start the trimmer with the throttle at full. Dont even touch the throttle, because you will flood it and make it hard to start. The choke is already introducing added fuel.

I prime it no matter what if I havent used it for a day.

Jimbo
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-23-2003, 01:45 PM
yacht yacht is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: central pa
Posts: 101
Jimbo - My FS85 has a "Run" setting and a "Start" setting and you can't slide the swich to "Start" unless you fully depress the throttle. Are you saying slide the switch to "Run", with full choke and don't touch the throttle?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-23-2003, 09:12 PM
LANDGUARD LANDGUARD is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Sunny State of Florida
Posts: 73
The Shindaiwa's start on ONE pull every time. Prime bulb 5 times in the morning and three times the rest of the day, put the choke up and pull the cord with the finger feathering the throttle, runnnnnn, push the choke off. I use 87 octane and Tanaka mix.

You may want to change your mix for a change.
__________________
LANDGUARD
Big Clem
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-23-2003, 11:43 PM
Jimbo Jimbo is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Central Maryland
Posts: 1,093
yacht-

I have 3 Stihl trimmers and none have run and start. All mine have Start and a circle with Stop written inside it.

If yours has run and start (which is strange) you need to put it on start. If you have to depress the trigger to get it to the start position that is fine.
What I am saying is dont hold the throttle in while you start it. The choke being on will add the extra fuel required for cold starting.

Jimbo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 PM.

Page generated in 0.08436 seconds with 7 queries