Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-23-2003, 10:14 PM
LawnSite Member

Need Advice

I have been maintaining 24 accounts now for 3 years. All Newengland homeowner type lawns big,rolling lots and lots of trees nothing too fancy. currently I run a 48 inch wb and a 61 inch sthm 3 wheel rider. the rider is geting up there in hours and I would like to replace it with a new 61 inch ztr. I am very concerned about switching away from a front mout deck. how much manuverability will I lose? will my productivity go up or will it stay about the same? how much faster can I go and get the same quality of cut? I would love to hear from someone who has used both three wheel riders and ztr. I am considering the turftiger with the 23 liquid cooled kawi engine btw...
Old 04-24-2003, 01:21 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

As far as losing maneuverability, that's a double edged sword. You will gain some, and you will lose some. You will gain some by means of being able to turn arond faster, and in tighter spots. You will lose some, by means that the ability to ride up to a small tree, or flagpole or something of that sort and "glide" around it with the left rear of your deck with your current rider is gone. Z's don't turn like that. They are more "choppy" at first, but with practice, you will be able to maneuver around these objects pretty well. You just have to go by them a bit, and steer the deck in to them a bit, and then proceed forward (and to your left a bit) and do it like that all the way around (or however far you're GOING around). You can't just circle it in one motion, because it steers in to the object too far, and your tire will skid.