Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2003, 07:55 PM
Meier Meier is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 269
Collections Advice

I took everyone's advice from Lawn Site on billing accounts. I originally contemplated asking all my new customers to give me a credit card such that I could bill their card at the end of the month for services performed. I'd then send them a statement detailing the charges.

The bank charges 2.1% for this, which seems cheap to me.

However, many on Lawn Site indicated that they collected far over 97.9%, and to give up 2.1% would be silly.

I took their advice and now all my work is done on 100% credit.

I sent out 9 bills on the 25th of March. They are due on the 24th of April...today. 7 paid on time and 2 have not paid.

What is the advice from the folks on Lawn Site? I've got new statements going out tomorrow, and I'll be assessing a 2% late fee on those two acounts.

Should I call the customers today? Or should I wait and call them tomorrow? Or should I just send a 2 week cancellation notice with the new statements and threaten a collection agency?

Thanks for any advice.
DFW, TX
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2003, 02:19 AM
strickdad's Avatar
strickdad strickdad is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: north carolina
Posts: 544
as a general rule we will let one go for 45 days past due before we start an inquiry. you may need to "inquire" sooner, depends on your cash flow...
__________________
Billy and Christina Strickland Stricklands Lawn Care
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2003, 09:23 AM
Tidycut Tidycut is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida space coast
Posts: 67
A 2% late fee is waaaaaaaaay too cheap IMO. Thatís 2 dollars on a $100 bill, big deal. If thatís the only penalty some may put off paying for three or four months. Make the customer think itís better to pay now than later, make it costly for themÖ 15% Ė 20% or a minimum of $15.

Rick
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2003, 09:35 AM
Mueller Landscape Inc's Avatar
Mueller Landscape Inc Mueller Landscape Inc is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southern California
Posts: 489
Honestly, 30 days is to long too. That is almost 60 days credit for the first mow with no interest.
__________________
John

Mueller Landscape Inc.
jmlandscp@cox.net
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2003, 04:55 PM
glenjr10 glenjr10 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 98
we send bill to everyone on the first of the month. payment is due by the 15th. after the 15th, the account is then past due. a 10 late fee is charged, no matter the balance. a late notice stamped with "PAST DUE" is sent to them.

i have never been more than 45 days past due, but i keep a close eye on all accounts. courtesy call can be done to remind them of their payment's due date, (around the 13th).
__________________
Glen O. Raggio, Jr.
R & R Yard Service
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2003, 05:19 PM
Meier Meier is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 269
I agree. When I print up the next batch of contract forms, I will state that a late fee of $10.00 or 2% of the balance will be charged, whichever is greater. Maybe $15. Most people don't expect to have late fees when they sign up. Doubt anyone would bicker over another $5. Probably should just make it $20 or $25. Credit card companies aren't too forgiving, why should I be?

I can't stand people who don't pay on time.

By the way, one of the customers drove his payment by the house on the due date, so of 9 statements, 8 were paid on time.

Later,
DFW, TX
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2003, 07:58 AM
strickdad's Avatar
strickdad strickdad is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: north carolina
Posts: 544
check your state regulations on late fees.. our state only allows a 1.5% fee on the balance..
__________________
Billy and Christina Strickland Stricklands Lawn Care
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2003, 12:03 PM
NYRookie NYRookie is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 240
In New York state, you can only charge 1.5%, per month. Any more and they call it loansharking. If my customers don't pay within 45 days of the invoice , I give them a call and remind them. I have only had to do it 3 times in the last year. 1 of them was a snowplowing client and another 20" storm was on the way, they payed very quickly.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-26-2003, 05:52 PM
tiedeman's Avatar
tiedeman tiedeman is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: earth
Posts: 8,753
Quote:
Originally posted by NYRookie
In New York state, you can only charge 1.5%, per month. Any more and they call it loansharking. If my customers don't pay within 45 days of the invoice , I give them a call and remind them. I have only had to do it 3 times in the last year. 1 of them was a snowplowing client and another 20" storm was on the way, they payed very quickly.
I am glad that people besides myself that knows that you can't charge no 20% a month for interest..it is illegal. Here in Michigan if you are incorporated you can charge 17% a year annual but if you are not incorporate only 7% a year.

Everybody needs to check to see whether the interest rate they are charging is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-27-2003, 10:18 AM
CMerLand CMerLand is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 390
As in so much of life the devil is in the details. If you charge your customers a "finance charge" then you are limited to the ursory laws in your states that may limit you to 1.5 to 2% of the balance. But youre not a bank or a finance company so stay away from using such terms on your contracts.

Now if you were to write into your contracts that you will bill your clients a $ 10 or $ 15.00 re-billing fee for any invoice not paid by the due date, then you are now billing for a service provided called "re-billing". Because you have outlined this policy prior to signing the contract then it is an agreed term of the contract and not considered a financing charge but for a service provided.

Obviously its best to check with your accountant or states laws for the laws in your area.

CMerrick
__________________
CMerLand
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 PM.

Page generated in 0.10192 seconds with 7 queries