Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-25-2003, 11:57 PM
LawnSite Member

Buying an existing company

I am a cat skinner by trade, which has me working road construction in the summer and oilfield work in the winter. The last couple of winters have been horrible, and left me on poggy and frustrated looking for work. I started looking into doing snow removal in the winter (which if successful I would build into a year round business) when an opportunity came up to buy an existing landscaping company in a town 30 miles away. The company has a 15 year history, and with no professional competition, is in the position where it turns away business. There is no professional landscaping service in this town, and only two others in 50 miles, all are as busy as they can be without expanding. I have two questions I would like some help with.

1 - I feel that I can move the business to my town in five years, by building a new client base, and slowly dropping the existing clients without burning any bridges. Is this realistic? Should I look at a longer time frame? Will I kill myself trying to make this work?

2 - I have a fair idea of the value of the company name, existing supplier relationships any equipment and vehicles, but I'm not sure how to come up with a value for the existing client base. Since most of you are from the states I would appreciate if value could be expressed as a percentage, since our dollar is going the way of the peso and ruble.

Thanks
Old 04-27-2003, 04:44 PM
LawnSite Member

Need help!