Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-29-2003, 01:14 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

do u came all your income

i'm new to having my own business.. i started last year... it's kind of hard for me to track all of my income.. does everyone claim every dollar they make
Old 04-29-2003, 02:15 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Yes i claim all my income, all business income is tracked directly through quickbooks and i am not even able to receive a payment without it getting recorded, otherwise all kinds off things become unbalanced.

Most of the guys here claim 100% of their income and the ones that don't should.

If you have problems tracking income you need to look into investing into some sort of accounting system. That can either be a paper system or a little more expensive, but tons easier a computer system.

If you search this site you will be able to find alot of information on book keeping practices.

Happy Mowing from StL
-Scott Marquart

www.westcountylandscaping.com
Old 04-29-2003, 09:17 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Time to buy Quickbooks. lol
If you cant track all your income then you surely cant track all of your expenses.
How will you know if your making a profit?
And yes I claim all my income and take all my deductions. I keep up with it on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. That way I know if I need to buy more equipment to offset income.
Old 04-29-2003, 05:07 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

thank you guys.. i'll looking into buying quickbooks
Old 04-29-2003, 08:39 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

YES, honesty is always the best policy.
God provides all I need IF..........I do what's right.

Ps 23:1-2
The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in GREEN PASTURES
Old 04-29-2003, 10:48 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

You need to track EVERYTHING that's business related. Even if you plan to under-report your income (which I wouldn't advise) you need to have a legitimate set of business income/expense records.