Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 05-01-2003, 10:31 PM
LawnSite Member

Lawn Mowing Rates

:blob3: I'm kind of new to the professional lawn care business. This is my second year and obviously I wish to do things right. I am filing all taxes (yes I know....kinda stupid, but legit), and I did purchase my vendors license so I am in the "legitimate stack of professionals." Now for my question. It's about pricing. For mowing I'm charging $3.00 per 1000 square ft., and labor rate for spring and fall clean ups are $25.00 per man/per hour. Does this seem like a fair price or am I taking a bath? I do not want to work for free, but I also do not wish to be the most expensive company in town. Any input would be greatly appreaciated. Thank you.
Neil Bauman from Classic Lawn Care

"Professional Lawn Care with a Personal Touch"
Old 05-01-2003, 10:49 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

As far as your mowing rate, it depends on what size lawns you're doing and the quality of your work. Most of mine are 20K and up and there's no way I could get $60 for 1/2 acre or $120 for an acre.

As far a your clean-up rate, it depends on what equipment you're using. My rate is about double yours, but that gets you me, my 48 inch mower with bagger, 10 HP blower, BP blower, handheld blower/shredder vac and one intense dude who works fast.
Old 05-01-2003, 11:05 PM
LawnSite Member

:blob3: Darryl,
Thank you for the fast reply. I do have 12 years experience working for another company starting from simple laborer, to crew chief, to manager. Now I own my own and I am using:
2000 Ford F-250 4 X 4 (w/ an 8' Meyer snowplow)
24' Haulmark enclosed trailer
Bunton 54" w/ a 17hp Kawasaki engine
Bunton 36" w/ a 13hp Honda engine (great motor!)
2 Echo BP400 Commercial B.P. blowers
2 Echo straight shaft line trimmers
Snapper 21" mower
Little Wonder Edger
Little Wonder 11 hp roller blower
Echo Hedge Trimmer
Assorted hand equipment