Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 05-15-2003, 05:19 PM
LawnSite Member

Equipment Advice - Semi Experienced.

I am just starting out. I used to cut grass as a teenager (mid to late 1980's) when the sight of a work crews, trailers and ztr mowers were not a common occurence in my home town. I also have a little over two years experience on a nine hole golf course and was an assistant greens keeper for 1 1/2 of those years.

I would like some comments and advice on the following equipment information i have aquired.

Concerning riding mowers:
I have the understanding that with proper on time maintenance a commercial mower should last approximately 8 to 10 years. This information came from several lawncare professionals who had employed several work crews so i am assuming the equipment they were refering to was operated by several different individuals over that 8 to 10 year period.
If one piece of equipment is operated by one or two (equipment conscious) individuals over the 8 to 10 year period as opposed to numerous operators it should be expected to last longer. I wonder how much longer.

Considering the aforementioned information (concerning the 8 to 10 years) would the equipment most likely have been a diesel or a gasoline engine.

Shouldnt a diesel engine be expected to have an approximately 45% longer mechanical lifespan than a gasoline engine.

Would it be practical to spend up to approximately 40% to 45% of the original equipment cost in repairs before considering the purchase of a new piece of equipment.

Concerning walk behind mowers:
Providing proper on time maintenance is performed shouldnt an individual be able to replace the original engine once on a walk behind before the other parts of the mower are worn out beyond repair.

Would it be practical to spend up to approximately 40% to 45% of the original equipment cost before considering the purchase of a new walk behind.