Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 05-25-2003, 01:18 PM
LawnSite Member

Wanna Start fast

Hello all, a friend of mine and me are interested in getting into the lawn care services. We know someone in another county who has too many contracts and wants someone to take some over for him so he does not loose face. There are three commercial accounts needing mowed twice a month one is a hospital about 650 per month. I am very interested in starting my own business. I really don't have the money to go and buy all of my stuff and am unsure of what steps to take to start the "business end" of it. What are the steps for getting business licenses and such. I figured i could get the business license and get myself a business loan to buy some real good equipt. I don't want to go out there with a res mower and screw it up on my first job. Any input would be helpful Thanks.
Old 05-25-2003, 08:51 PM
LawnSite Member

Hello,
I am pretty new at my own business also. I sold my classic Corvette to buy my equipment and my truck. I paid cash for all but the truck. If you have something that you could sell, you can always replace this item in the future.

Good Luck
Bob
6x12' open trailer
1997 Dodge Ram
Old 05-25-2003, 11:02 PM
LawnSite Addict

OMG, you should've kept the 'Vette!
Old 05-26-2003, 09:13 AM
LawnSite Member

I still have one Corvette (1979). I still work my full time job in Tele Comm also, I am hoping to go in LCO full time in 2005. I have 2 Commercial Condo's and 8 residential homes, I hope to gain 40 more residentials before the end of summer. I will be putting out some door hangers in a couple weeks. I am not in a big hurry.

Bob
6x12' open trailer
1997 Dodge Ram
Old 05-26-2003, 09:50 AM
LawnSite Member

Tele Comm

Lemme guess CATV contractor.. arent we all. I am also in that line of work looking to stay home some more
Old 05-27-2003, 12:13 AM
LawnSite Member

Nope Not CATV. I got my start there about 15 years ago.