Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2000, 11:16 AM
Runner's Avatar
Runner Runner is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Flint, Michigan
Posts: 13,494
Some of you guys may have read my thread I wrote about the trouble I had with my Exmark leaving streaks of uncut grass. Some even offered suggestions. (appreciated) Well, my Lazer went to the dealer the other day. They reset the deck adjustments, checked the spindles,- perfect, tried yet a different set of highlift blades, and changed the deck belt. It's still doing it even at crawling speeds. Now, my question is this. I've had this mower for 3 months now, it has less than 300 hrs. on it, should I ask for another deck? I can't be leaving uncut grass on all my jobs for the next two years! Also, does ANYONE else have this problem with their Lazer? PLEASE give me your input. Thanks again.

[Edited by Runner on 09-23-2000 at 03:19 PM]
__________________
Joe

Thank you, Dad - for always being the dad that you were. You truly are my hero. You always were.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2000, 01:33 PM
Third Day Third Day is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 13
Lazer hp

My Lazer Hp 44 in does not have any problems with leaving strips of grass. Yes I do think its time to ask for a new deck. When you bought the machine, you thought that you were getting something that would cut all the grass you went over. I bet they would not discount the mower based on the satisfaction rate of your customers. I would call and DEMAND a solution. Good luck.
__________________
Gen.1:11-13
Gods people beautifying God's creation !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2000, 03:20 PM
jaybee jaybee is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York State
Posts: 128
The blades on my Lazer almost touch. They are that close. It doesn't seem possible that any grass could go uncut. I have a 60'deck. I definitely would want to see the factory rep about your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2000, 04:41 PM
bob's Avatar
bob bob is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: DE
Posts: 4,240
Tell them you want a new mower. They will probably say no. Then they'll come back and say we can only get you a new deck.
__________________
Bob

If you choked a Smurf, what color would it turn?

I'd give my right hand , if I could be ambidextrous!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2000, 05:02 PM
bdemir bdemir is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: metro detroit michigan (motor city)
Posts: 610
My turf tracer never did this! It sounds weird that you can leave behind strips. I just cant imagine how the spindles could be off unless the deck was wring from the beggining. Im not an expert but the only thing i could think of is maybe your blades are not close enough or not sharp enough at the edges or maybe the baffles were not welded in their aligned places. Im no mower expert maybe ask Lazer he has qutie a bit of experience with exmark mowers. Usually strips are from having the wrong kind of blades on a mower. FOr example using dixie blades on an exmark and vise versa. make sure the blades are so close they almost touch if not, order exmark blades.



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2000, 07:52 PM
Keith's Avatar
Keith Keith is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 3,774
Runner, absolutely ask for something to be done about it. 300 hours and three months is nothing. You have invested too much into this machine for sub-standard results. You gave it your best shot at solving the problem and it still persists.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2000, 08:07 PM
geogunn's Avatar
geogunn geogunn is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 3,049
does it leave uncut grass all the time?

my bet, even though it's been checked, is that you are loosing blade speed. just my suggestion. good luck!

GEO
__________________
My new ’06 business plan: MOW-TRIM-BLOW and GO...and...NO…I WILL NOT CLEAR YOUR BRUSH ROW!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-23-2000, 08:14 PM
dhicks dhicks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gulf Shores, AL
Posts: 771
Hey you paid top dollar for this machine. Ask for a new mower and settle on a new deck. I wish you all the best!
__________________
Emerald Greenscapes. Disneyland on the Potomac


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2000, 05:49 AM
jrblawncare jrblawncare is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 445
Runner,sorry to here about your problem,I picked up the new 54" HP this spring and have not had ANY problems at all.Does your dealer have any turf you can cut with your mower?If so, do it an show them the problem and state this is not acceptable what are we going to do about it!!!A call to an Exmark can't hurt either.Good luck and keep us updated on how you make out.JOHN
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2000, 08:26 AM
FIREMAN FIREMAN is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: n.j.
Posts: 318
NOT TO QUESTION YOUR JUDGEMENT , BUT IS IT POSSIBLE THAT THE GRASS YOU ARE CUTTING IS JUST TOO TALL AND IS BEING LAID DOWN IN BETWEEN THE BLADES.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.com™ - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.

Page generated in 0.10936 seconds with 7 queries