Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 06-10-2003, 05:15 PM
LawnSite Member

New Equipment vs Used

Is it better money spent to go ahead and buy new equipment w/ warranties vs finding used w/out warranty. I know downtime is money just being wasted but how important would some of you say this is.
Old 06-10-2003, 06:36 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

If You can aford To replace everything Used Is Ok.
John
Old 06-10-2003, 06:48 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

how good are you at repairing equipment?

Mike
Old 06-10-2003, 07:33 PM
LawnSite Member

I'm not very good at fixing small engines, gimme a Haynes manual and I can take a car apart.

I checked with a company today who's offering 2 yr parts and labor wrty. Plus they'll provide you with equipment if yours is taking more than a day or so to repair.

I'm using Kawasaki presently and I like it, but I'm thinking of going with all Maruyama (sp?) Has anyone had any significant long term problems with this equipment?
Old 06-10-2003, 08:01 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Port city
Define (OR SO?) In your warranty!
Old 06-10-2003, 09:55 PM
LawnSite Member

OR SO - more than 2 days, which according to the salesman shouldn't ever happen.
Old 06-11-2003, 07:53 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Thank you.
Old 06-11-2003, 03:15 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Port City Lawncare
I'm not very good at fixing small engines, gimme a Haynes manual and I can take a car apart.

Yeah, but can you put the car back together again?
Old 06-19-2003, 02:19 PM
LawnSite Member

MEchAnicAn

I'm a Mechanic, My son can tear things down without a Manual. lol he's 4. Small engines have the least amount of parts but seems to me they are the hardest to get working properly. I'm dumbfounded, but I only worked on two things before. Stihl 019 chainsaw, and a Ryobi trimmer.

It's no longer a dream, it's a reality!
Old 06-23-2003, 02:07 AM
LawnSite Senior Member