Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 06-11-2003, 05:13 PM
LawnSite Member

I need HELP, and fast!!!!!

Thanks in advance for taking the time to help me out. Let first start off by telling you a little bit about myself. I am 25 years old, and I have worked for a telecommunications company since I graduated high school. I have gotten used to making really good money, and all of a sudden (like a usual telecom company) they have decided they don't need me anymore. I used to work for a friend who owns a lawn care company, and i was just brainstorming today about starting up my own gig. I will be employed for another 3 months or so, but I don't have to do any real work for them. I am looking at buying new equipment, so let me give you the list. I am looking at a new Wright Stander 61" mower, a John Deer self propelled (not sure of the model, but it's around $800.), a shindiawa trimmer and a trailer. I figure I can get all of this for under $10,000. I am hoping to have a little left over for advertising and such. In any case I need to know the best way to get customers. I am open to suggestions. I am primarily after residential work, I don't really think I can tackle commercial with just me, and I don't want the headache of employees right now. Also, how do you guys estimate pricing? I am thinking I will search for most of my work in nicer developments in the area, but I am not sure what to charge for regular cutting/trimming, and what to charge for fertilizing and such. I have done this type of work before, but like i said I never did the running of the business. PLEASE HELP ME OUT HERE.
Old 06-11-2003, 05:29 PM
LawnSite Senior Member