Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 06-15-2003, 12:28 AM
LawnSite Member

new business advice

I've been cutting with a friend and his 40 account business for about 3 years now- So although I'm a newbie in my own respect, I still know the business more than a beginner, so please base any replies with that in mind. I started up 3 weeks ago, have a 6X10 open trailer, a 21" lawnboy (new), 2 backpacks echo w/w , gas hedge trimmer along with all the hand tools and what not I already have. I currently have 4 regular accounts I frequently see homes with horrible overgrown lawns and I wanted to know what the best way to approach the homeowner is. I've thought about leaving my card in the mailbox, etc.. but after some thinking I've decided that I'd like to print up a simple but to the point letter informing the homeowner that I noticed his lawn or something and that I'd like his business.... Any thoughts on this? I've thought about advertising and will be putting flyers at a few local supermarkets, church boards, and senior day programs, etc. I don't want to build up, or rather don't plan on building up a 400 account business, but I'd like to have 10-15 accounts ultimately so if anyone has any advice, I'd appreciate it. Any thoughts on wording of flyers? Should I offer Fall Cleanups, $25 off for new customers or something along those lines, or??
Thanks all.By the way, just want to say that I've been browsing these boards for a few weeks and they're great!
Old 06-15-2003, 08:35 PM
LawnSite Member

Print up some flyers and put them on the mailboxes of the lawns you want to service. Thats what i did starting out and got a pretty good response rate. By doing that and getting a few yards and doing really good work you will get more customers. Word of mouth and neighbors of the customers you already have will eventually start calling you.
Old 06-15-2003, 11:02 PM
LawnSite Member

flyers