Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 06-18-2003, 04:27 AM
Millenium Member

Does high nirtogen REALLY, REALLY cause lawn fungus????

I must ask. I have been doing this for right near 8 years and have never faced such a wet spring/summer. I can't help but notice the best looking lawns around are the ones that are OVER FERTILIZED by homeowners.

I have a stable fert program and everyone that converts to my program agrees that they have much better growth control and they mow less often. However many, many of the lawns are just ate up with fungus, mainly leaf spot, brown patch, and a little rust. However the lawns that get 35-...-.... fertilizer or have dog **** all over them look the best, no question!!

Could it be possible that underfertilized lawns promote more fungus problems??
Old 06-18-2003, 04:48 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

The first thing we do when rust arrives on a lawn here is put down a high nitrogen fertilizer. The higher nitrogen helps the grass plant to grow past the fungus quicker. Most of the time that will knock it out without having to apply a fungicide.
Old 06-18-2003, 07:41 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

The thinking is, high N, obviously produces alot of new growth, therefore keeping plants tender. Tender plants are more susceptible to disease if the path. is introduced. In a case like rust, the N forces the lawn to outgrow the disease.
Old 06-18-2003, 07:42 AM
LawnSite Silver Member