Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2003, 09:08 AM
lugnut#6's Avatar
lugnut#6 lugnut#6 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ocean Springs,Mississippi.
Posts: 405
lets talk lime

ok i live down here on the ms. gulf coast.alot of the soil down here is acidic.how often should lime be applied?i dont use a PH kit,i just eyeball the lawn color and go from there.usually i like to lay down lime around the same time i lay down nitrogin rich fertalizer.do yall see any flaws on this?

thanx
pj jordan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2003, 09:17 AM
Premo Services Premo Services is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: St. Louis,Missouri
Posts: 1,516
Seems to me you would want to have a soil test done.
How do you know from eyeballing the lawn, how much lime to put out per thousand/sf????
__________________
I went down to the Crossroads
Fell down on my knees
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2003, 09:33 AM
lugnut#6's Avatar
lugnut#6 lugnut#6 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ocean Springs,Mississippi.
Posts: 405
well since the chance of doing damage to my lawn from lime is less than that of nitrogen i get lazy and skip the soil test.
as far as eyeballing goes it doesnt help determining the amount of lime to put down but you can tell by color wether or not it could use some lime.and no i know its not an exact science but observation is a usefull tool that all in this bussiness use.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2003, 10:37 AM
Gravely_Man Gravely_Man is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,077
Spend the time and go with the soil test. Much better for you and the soil.


Gravely_Man
__________________
In memory of Eric Elm
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2003, 07:33 PM
lugnut#6's Avatar
lugnut#6 lugnut#6 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ocean Springs,Mississippi.
Posts: 405
ok...lets say i get the soil test and it needs lime.should go ahead and add lime before i fertalize or should i fertalize first then test soil again before adding the lime.dosnt fertalizer generally add to the acidity of the soil ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2003, 08:07 PM
tiedeman's Avatar
tiedeman tiedeman is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: earth
Posts: 8,753
Quote:
Originally posted by Gravely_Man
Spend the time and go with the soil test. Much better for you and the soil.


Gravely_Man
listen to Gravely..do a soil test first. Then you can adjust the type of fertilizer that you use as well depending on the nitrogen, phosphorus, and potassium level.

You might actually find some interesting results from the test
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2003, 08:14 PM
lugnut#6's Avatar
lugnut#6 lugnut#6 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ocean Springs,Mississippi.
Posts: 405
are there soil kits that are ez to use or should i call the county agent?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-23-2003, 10:16 PM
tiedeman's Avatar
tiedeman tiedeman is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: earth
Posts: 8,753
you should be able to find a soil test kit at a local nursery. I think that I paid about $60 for my kit, and I can do about 15 tests of PH, Nit, Phos, and Pot. I even double checked my kit with the county and the results were just about pin point accurate.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-23-2003, 11:41 PM
lugnut#6's Avatar
lugnut#6 lugnut#6 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ocean Springs,Mississippi.
Posts: 405
thank you...ill get one tomorrow
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:41 PM.

Page generated in 0.08611 seconds with 7 queries