Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2000, 04:12 PM
jaybee jaybee is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York State
Posts: 128
Am I the only one who thinks that every commercial mower should come equipped with an hour meter. I've had them installed on both my walk behinds, and they are only $40.00. Saves a lot of guess work on maintenance. Every year new mowers get a price increase. I'm sure manufacturers could include an hour meter in the increase.Bottom of the line mowers require the same maintenance that top of the line mowers do.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2000, 04:53 PM
John DiMartino John DiMartino is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Walden,NY
Posts: 2,555
I have one on everything that isnt a throw away item.I have them on a few golf carts to give me an average for the fleet.I put them on the leaf blowers,and even on my gas pressurewassher.I pay 30 a peice for the tach/hrs meter.I buy 4 at a time.I like that they read without 12V,and register only when running,a must for carts,since the key is on all day,but engine runs only a few hrs.I like knowing the RPM's,since 1/2 of equipment comes delivered with the settings wrong.I noticed that almost everything I operate looses about 50-150 rpm's a year thru normal cable stretch and linkage and spring wear.I am lost without the meters,i use them for service,since i am not the only operator-I couldnt even guess the hrs my steiner gets without one.
__________________
My Equipment Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2000, 06:11 PM
Vibe Ray's Avatar
Vibe Ray Vibe Ray is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 785
Are the hour meters reusable??? Can they be swapped to new equipment when the one with the meter is dead?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2000, 07:35 PM
Eric ELM Eric ELM is offline
Husband, Father, Friend, Angel
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 4,831
Mini Tach makes one that is resetable. Just take it off and put it on new equipment and reset it. Most good mowers have tachs now.
__________________
<img src="http://www.elmlawnsite.com/images/bannerpic.jpg" border="0" alt="ELMLawnsite">
^One of the lawns we mow
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2000, 11:14 AM
Five Star Lawn Care LLC's Avatar
Five Star Lawn Care LLC Five Star Lawn Care LLC is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Livonia, Michigan
Posts: 1,002
all my mosers have hour meters that double as tachs when the engine is running. Makes maintance and ajusting a breeze.
__________________
"People seldom improve when they have no other model but themselfs to copy after"

Eric Estes
Five Star Lawn Care LLC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2000, 07:51 AM
jaclawn jaclawn is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: South West PA
Posts: 490
I agree that all machines should have one, BUT, I have owned just about every one of the digital spark induction ones out there, and they all work fine until they get wet. Once that happens, they are toast.

The 12v analog ones work fine though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2000, 09:07 AM
Eric ELM Eric ELM is offline
Husband, Father, Friend, Angel
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 4,831
The meter on the old Chopper became toast several years ago from sitting outside all summer. I took that thin layer of plastic off and crazy glued plexiglass over it and it's holding up great. I don't know why thy use such thin material on the tiny tachs to start with.
__________________
<img src="http://www.elmlawnsite.com/images/bannerpic.jpg" border="0" alt="ELMLawnsite">
^One of the lawns we mow
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2000, 09:56 AM
lawrence stone's Avatar
lawrence stone lawrence stone is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: anthracite valley, commonwealth of pennsylvania Winter residence: Charlotte County FLA
Posts: 2,079
I don't put hour meters on old machines anymore if it has a oil filter I only change the oil (full syn)and filter
once a year at the end of the season no matter how many hours the engine has operated.

I change the oil (full syn again) and filter in my truck and car every 25k miles.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:34 PM.

Page generated in 0.08190 seconds with 7 queries