Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 09-28-2000, 07:00 AM
LawnSite Member

I've only been a member here since summer but (thats a lot of threads read) i have noticed that i NEVER hear mention of snapper mowers. I have been using them for about 4 years and i have never had a problem (never), i have a snapper pro Zcruiser, a 48" walk behind, and a 36" walk behind all with kawaisaki engines, is it location? is it poor warranty? are they over-priced? poor quality? or am i awaiting a rude awakening? why doesn't anyone use them? my dealer who is just over a mile from my house also sells me stihl trimmers and he always helps me with anything, just curious, sorry for the long post..
Old 09-28-2000, 09:42 AM
LawnSite Member

I am also in an area that Snapper dealers are all over. So I tried one. Trying to get away cheap for a second mower.

This snapper was a piece of junk. Threw both power belts off as soon as you disengaged the deck. Brought it back to the dealer like seven times, he fixed it each time. It had a bent pulley on it but he never fixed that, just put a couple new belts on it and gave it back.

Finally, I told him I didn't want it and traded it (at full price) for a Kees 48 walk behind. End of problem.

I don't know if I just had a bad one, but mine was a piece of junk.

Old 09-28-2000, 09:58 AM
Banned

I have one and it took about 10 hours to get everything to work right. Same problem with deck belt, Snapper put smooth idler on, replaced with tall idler with flange and no more problems.
Old 09-28-2000, 08:40 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Ive had my belt 48" for 5-6 yrs now. Bought it used and have had all good luck with it. Dont kow if the previous owner had any. The only thing I fixed on it was the tranny. But I knew about that 2 yrs ago. Changed it this season. Workhorse!
Old 09-28-2000, 09:54 PM
LawnSite Member

Snapper

Bubba5, all of my walkbehinds are all Snapper (all hydro's)