Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 06-24-2000, 03:23 PM
LawnSite Member

I have been visiting this website for a few months now and have gained so much knowledge of this field. Site traffic has increased significantly in the last two months. Lots of the new posts have been answered, and answered well time and time before. Maybe a FAQ for new users is needed. Not so much to reduce same old posts (hydro vs. belt, ect.) but to give new users the same opportunity to learn what has been discussed before. <p>I have noticed that lots of post are not being given the same sage advice they used to solicit, and let's face it, most do not use the search feature before posting. Maybe a FAQ is needed to field these important but rehashed topics? These are some of the topics I could think of including.<p>Pesticide Use<br>Herbicide Use.<br>Mower preferences and loyalties.<br>Hydro vs. Belts drive.<br>Blade selection and sharpening.<br>Scrubs<br>Trimmer and string issues.<br>Security and theft issues.<br>Walk-behind vs. riders<br>Commercial vs. Residential work.<br>Contracts.<br>Software.<br>Billing and collections.<br>Insurance. Liability and property.<br>Worker's Compensation<br>Taxes.<br>Bagging & Mulching.<br>Job costing.<br>Online Suppliers.<br>Professional Associations.<br>Routine maintenance.<br>Deck size and productivity.<br>Winter Income.<br>Industry magazines and Publications.<br>Legal Issues.<br>Posting etiquette.<br>Supporting this site, banner ads.<br>Where & how to pee in Bushes.<br>Advertising & Marketing.<br>Fertiliztion.<br>Blowers & Power Rakes.<br>Customer Service.<br>Velke & Sulkes.<br>Sod and Seeding.<br>Erik's unhealthy affection for Dixies.<br>Fuel and Oil.<br>Routing.<p>I'm sure I have left out many issues. Please post as to any topics that could be added. Writing and posting the FAQ is up to Eric and Chuck. Just a suggestion to possibly improve an already wonderful and useful site.<p>----------<br>Mike Reynold