Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 08-04-2003, 02:10 PM
LawnSite Member

should i do this

I would like to no if anyone could advise me. ive been working for a well known lawn care company for a couple of yearsand wouldlike to go out in my own. The area i'm living in seems to be booming and getting customers is not a problem but i am 42 years old and some people say that in a couple of years you won't want to do that kind of work.
So my question is to you guys .Do you think it is to late for a guy my age to start a landscaping business?
If I do this i'm going all out so the answer to this question is real important to me. Also how did you guys get the start up money to do this, Like equipment, accountants,high maintenance girlfriends and lawyers or licences and insurance.
Old 08-04-2003, 04:02 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

What do you do for the 'well known' lawn care company?

Sales manager, mower chaser, foreman, mechanic, or what?

I for one do not want to be humpin a mower for 30 years. For a long-range business-- the plan has to include growing into employees and then managing the operation in the elder years.

But even at that one finds that you no longer are doing "lawns and landscapes" as much as you are either baby-sitting or learning Spanish.

And THEN when you have all the normal business expenses you find you are often competing against the solo operators with instant pension windfall start-up, part-timers with other incomes, the migrant solo operators, operators not paying their taxes or other expenses, teenagers, and price killers. That is just the nature of the beast that dwells in this kingdom!

It's tough to win at any age...

Where for the money? See above paragraph.
High-maintenance girlfriends leave soon after they realize you'll be working more hours, so don't worry about that one.
License/Insurance? See above paragraph again.

My bottom line, if it's your dream business- do it!