Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2000, 07:29 AM
MOW ED's Avatar
MOW ED MOW ED is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: N.E. Wisconsin
Posts: 5,029
This is not a tool that is related to anything you might use on the lawn but it is a tool that helps you work smarter. (esp. since you visit Lawnsite)

My question is what type of computers do you folks have and also what type of internet connection are you currently using? If you want you can post what that connection costs per month?

I am on a HP 6470 - 400mhz Pentium II (not the fastest but fast enough now) I currently am on a cable modem thru Time-Warner N.E. Wisconsin and its 39.00 per month. Recently upgraded from a 56k phone connection that cost 22 per month and I will never go back. This cable is lightening fast.



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2000, 07:52 AM
Eric ELM Eric ELM is offline
Husband, Father, Friend, Angel
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 4,831
I have a HP 8380 - 400mhz Pentium II with a DVD, CD R/W, Zip, TV Card and Sony Trinitron 17" Monitor. My scanner, printer and digital camera are all HP. I have DSL connection at $39.95 a month which is about the same price I was paying for a second line and an ISP, but a lot faster. Not bad for an old man, but would like to upgrade to a newer faster puter soon.
__________________
<img src="http://www.elmlawnsite.com/images/bannerpic.jpg" border="0" alt="ELMLawnsite">
^One of the lawns we mow
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2000, 11:35 AM
JJ Lawn JJ Lawn is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 350
The one that I am using now is a Dell GX100 with a 550 celery processor.(don't laugh) It has a Starband 2-way satellite system set up in it. It sends an receive's via a dish. (no modem) Right now it is not costing anything as it is in a pilot program. It is not cable modem nor DSL but for a rural setting without the possibity of neither it is not a bad set up.

I also have a PC set up with Direcpc that I have been using for the last 2 yrs. That is send modem and receive satellite. (when it works) That has been costing me 49.99 a month. ISP is free, well we trade services. But if this Starband system works like it is now, DPC will be history.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-2000, 08:46 PM
Keith's Avatar
Keith Keith is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 3,774
I have a home built Pentium MMX 233 overclocked to 250 (cooking with gas now) system. The system also includes a Diamond Viper 550 vid card, and Sound Blaster Live sound, as well as a Diamond Supra Express modem, now realing in info via a blistering 26400bps connection Also a SuperDisk drive and Viewsonic 17 inch monitor. I originally built it to use the, then new K6 3 450mhz AMD processor, unfortunatley I could not get it to work properly and opted for $46 Intel processor to get it running. I had every intention of building an Athlon system, but do to this great connection I have, I've lost interest.

At my old residence I could knock down a solid 52 k connection, but not here. The phone lines are crap. I am 11 miles from cable service and 2 miles from DSL. Really DSL should be available according to DSL Reports. The real kicker is that if my computer was at my shop I could have DSL.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-2000, 08:48 PM
TLS's Avatar
TLS TLS is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: N&W Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 7,938
Dell, 933Mhz, 128mb RDRAM, 64mb GeForce Video, DVD, Zip 250, 19" Trinitron, 56K US Robotics ISP @ $14.95/month. Its great to have Tommy's Lawn Service buy me one every 3 yrs. Always get top of the line and I love to play video/simulation games in my spare time.

__________________
TLS
2004 GMC 2500HD Reg Cab BOSS 9.2 V-Plow
2013 eXmark LazerZ X-Series 60" 34hp EFI (RED) Kohler
2006 Hustler SuperZ 28EFI 60" Power Chute Design OCDC SOLD!
Perma-green Magnum
1996 48" SCAG Belt WB 14hp Kawasaki Classic Deck
Echo 2 strokes PB-755 & SRM 280
Eastman WM20H 20" Commercial Push mower (NEW for 2013)
Commercial Lawnboy trim mower 3-FOR SALE!http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=424203
Solo since 1980
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2000, 03:05 AM
Richard Martin's Avatar
Richard Martin Richard Martin is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 14,466
I use a homebuilt computer. It has an Amptron PM8600 mainboard, I replaced the bios chip last year, 233 Pentium MMX, 64 megs EDO RAM, 33k6 USR voice modem, Sound Blaster 16, 3dfx Voodoo3 w/32 megs video RAM, Western Digital HD, Torisan 24X CD-ROM, Acer 6206A CD-RW, Samsonics 55V 15" monitor. My connection to the web is free thanks to AOL.
__________________
Serving Greenville, Winterville and Ayden NC


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2000, 10:19 AM
TGCummings TGCummings is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Salinas, California
Posts: 773
Dell XPS T700r (700 MHz Processor), 50x CD ROM, 128 RAM, 20 Gig Hard Drive.

This baby was top of the line when I ordered it in February, but barely checks in at 'average' now. Such is the industry...

I'm still on 56K modem because DSL is unavailable in my rural community. Will upgrade, though, when it is...

-TGC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2000, 07:24 PM
Toddppm Toddppm is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: VA
Posts: 268
Sony VAIO, 233mhz ,17" Sony monitor, AOL for now , i've been waiting for my DSL through earthlink for about 1 1/2 mths now, their support sucks, finally got a install date last week, waited for them all morning , they had cancelled the appt. but didn't call just sent an email to account i didn't have! hope it's worth it. AOL $22/mth DSL/$49
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-10-2000, 09:52 AM
Getmow Getmow is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: VA
Posts: 431
Unfortunately I have a COMPAQ presario. Yes, I own a 25hp kohler too.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-10-2000, 04:05 PM
Keith's Avatar
Keith Keith is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 3,774
I just decided to upgrade. I just ordered an AMD Athlon 850 cpu, ABIT board and new tower and 128meg of PC133 Micron memory.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:34 AM.

Page generated in 0.09477 seconds with 7 queries