Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2003, 12:32 PM
hamsey hamsey is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 123
Overseeding/Procedure/Fert.

I will be overseeding this weekend and here's what I'm thinking.

Cut grass to 2" (Normally cut @ 3 1/2" will cut twice over 2 days) with mulching blades.

Plug aerate (with help from Isabel) break up plugs by dragging a chain behind aerator. (Need to break down thatch)

Slitseed (Renting a machine) putting down Turfseed Galaxy KBG blend.

Fert. this is where I am stuck. I put down Lesco 24-5-11+Fe over the Labor day weekend. Do I need to put down a starter fert. for the new seed? Put down nothing because the applications are too close together or other?

When slitseeding I was told that it similar to dethatching and alot of dead grass comes up. So that means I will have to rake. How do I rake without disturbing the new seed. (Do I leave it or is it a non-issue)

Thank You
Norm
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2003, 12:45 PM
Hamons's Avatar
Hamons Hamons is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 706
24 -5 -11 will be fine, it's not the ideal starter ferilizer -- but it will work fine. DO NOT put down more fertilizer. YOu will end u[p putting down way too much nitrogen.

I guess I am making a big assumption here that you put down about 4.16 pounds of product per 1000 so that you put down 1# of nitrogen.

I leave the dead grass on the top of the lawn. ONly exception is to pik up the bigclumps that would get in the way. Don't use a rake!
__________________
Jeff Hamons
Hamons Custom Landscaping
Overland Park, KS

Kansas City Lawn Care and Landscaping

Kansas City Lawn Care and Landscaping Blog
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2003, 12:53 PM
CT John CT John is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT Zone 6
Posts: 90
Another option would be to run the slitseeder without seed and then rake. Just raise the blades to just at the soil level.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2003, 07:21 PM
GLAN GLAN is offline
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,650
If you have as much thatch as you're saying

Power rake it with a flale type, that would be solid metal, not a spring. Clean all that up. Cut to the height. Aerate and seed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2003, 09:20 AM
hamsey hamsey is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 123
I have about 1/2" thatch, some areas are thicker. Will cut grass first, power rake, cleanup, aerate then overseed.
Thanks for your input!
Norm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:51 AM.

Page generated in 0.06755 seconds with 7 queries