Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-25-2003, 07:29 PM
LawnSite Member

Help growing grass in dirty shady spots.

Hi, I recently purchased a home in Jackson Mississippi. I have some areas in the back yard that are dirty and dusty with very little grass growing. The grass is very patchy. I dont think it was very well cared for. The areas where the grass is not growing are kinda shady... 2 big trees and a few smaller ones. The ground is kinda dry and dusty..... Slightly hilly. Grass grows great in the front yard and sides. Just haveing problems with the back where i have hills and trees.

I am Very new to lawn care and dont have alot of resources. I would REALLY like to get grass growing in these areas. Any ideas/suggestions on where i should start?

Im guessing the shade is causeing the problems...

Please help.
Old 09-27-2003, 09:51 AM
LawnSite Member

What kind of tree? If it is an Oak you probable need to work some lime into the soil (oaks have a lot of acids). You also may need to do some pruining first to help get some sun in. Than get some fertilzer work it in the soil, find some shade type grass - seed, water, cover with straw - you will need to keep it watered. Depending on how big the area, this shouldn't be a hugh expense. Good luck. I'm sure others will post more replys, this is the basics
Old 09-27-2003, 08:58 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

IF you absolutely want grass find out the best shade variety for MS. Different regions need different grass types. A fescue for shade in one area of the US may not do well in a different region.

A free source is your local county extension office. I believe every state has an extension university (spec. in agricultural, horticultural studies) and they will know the best shade grass for YOUR area. And yes, be sure to be able to tell them the type of trees in the area