Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 11-09-2003, 07:25 PM
LawnSite Member

Thoughts on Scott's 5 step

Newbie here. I just want some input regarding Scotts 5 step program in the midwest region. Chicago and morthwest Indiana to be more precise. I use it on my lawn and am going to push it (introduce it) to my customers this year as an added service. All I have been providing thus far has been cutting and edging. Any / all help will be greatly appreciated. I did a search on Scott's and was inundated with results. I weeded through about twenty or so but didn't find any pertinent answers.

Thank you in advance
Old 11-10-2003, 11:58 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Plan on being licensed to apply fetilizer, even though it's just Scott's brand fertilizer it has a pre-emergent in several of the steps that require you to be licensed to apply.
Old 11-10-2003, 02:26 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Too expensive and too much urea...
Old 11-10-2003, 03:53 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Wells
Plan on being licensed to apply fetilizer, even though it's just Scott's brand fertilizer it has a pre-emergent in several of the steps that require you to be licensed to apply.
Then how come a homeowner can apply it to his/her lawn without a license? Again, I am new here and to the fertilizer side of the business.

How would I go about getting licensed?
Old 11-10-2003, 06:21 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Plow Meister
Then how come a homeowner can apply it to his/her lawn without a license?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Because it's your lawn. You can do just about anything you want to your own lawn.

but start messing around with someone else's lawn and property and that a completly different situation.