Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2003, 08:21 AM
Charles's Avatar
Charles Charles is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 7,073
220 Question

I called an electrical company about running setting up a 220 outlet in my garage. He gave a high ballpark figure of between 185$ to 235$. He said on the high side because it was over the phone est.
I got some idea of what is involved in setting this up. Is this estimate a good deal? Could I do this myself without burning the house down? LOL I got a lesser qualified guy wanting to do it but I dont want him buring the house down either with a faulty wiring job. Can just about anybody do this safely?
Since my welding(235 ac Hobart stick welder--looking at buying) will be sporadic I dont want to pay the above price to run the 220 either.
I know it will be harder to weld with the stick but the price is right and its heavy duty
  #2  
Old 12-20-2003, 04:36 AM
vipermanz's Avatar
vipermanz vipermanz is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 1,780
that's honestly a good quote (around here atleast) if it includes materials, if possible you can just add a new breaker to your box and just run a 10 gauge wire to your workshop yourself (self satisfaction). i might just let someone do it though, alot of people are quite hesitant around electricity for good reasons.
But you are certainly on the right track with the machine you are looking at , It'll probably last a good 45+ years!!!


Happy Holidays!!
__________________
<img src="http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v404/vipermanz/Newbanner.jpg" alt="Image hosted by Photobucket.com">
Check Out Weldingweb !!!
  #3  
Old 12-20-2003, 10:17 AM
Charles's Avatar
Charles Charles is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 7,073
Thanks for the info Vipermanz. I am tempted to try it myself. I have gotten so I do most everything else. Just have to overcome the working with electricity...
Hope you and your family have a nice Christmas too.
  #4  
Old 12-20-2003, 11:34 AM
1grnlwn's Avatar
1grnlwn 1grnlwn is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,257
It all depends on where your breaker box is. If it is in your garage it sounds a little high. #10 wire is only good for 30A. I am not sure what your buzz box will draw but the standard plug for welding is a 50A. which would require #6 wire. That being said I run my wire welder, plasma and tig on a 30A. w/#10 wire. I have not blown the breaker yet. This equip draws fewer amps and I am working at the lower settings. The key to safety is to never use smaller rated wire that the circuit protection(breaker). for example never use a 30a. breaker with #12 wire. Good connections and wire needs protection from hazards (heat, physical damage, vibration, etc)
  #5  
Old 12-21-2003, 06:59 AM
Charles's Avatar
Charles Charles is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 7,073
Thanks 1grnlwn. The garage is about 10ft from the breaker. I will need more wire than the 10ft to run it up to the breaker and up or down to the outlet. I was looking at a 50 amp buzz box. Got a guy who put in my AC awhile back coming to install it up to code
  #6  
Old 12-21-2003, 03:35 PM
UNISCAPER UNISCAPER is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Encinitas, Ca. 92024
Posts: 1,426
WE took double ought cable with a 100 amp breaker off a main load center, ran 220 to into a smaller 60 amp load center fro the shop. All 220 circuits are 8 guage, 110 has a 30 amp circuit with 10 gauge, then the rest are 20 amp with 12 gauge.

WE can't load every single plug, but for what we do it is pleanty sufficient and have had no issues. All wire is run in conduit, no romex here.
__________________
Bill Schwab
Naturescape Landscape Co.
Encinitas, Ca. 92024
www.naturescapelandscape.com
  #7  
Old 12-21-2003, 03:45 PM
olderthandirt olderthandirt is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: here
Posts: 4,905
Quote:
Originally posted by Charles
Thanks 1grnlwn. The garage is about 10ft from the breaker. I will need more wire than the 10ft to run it up to the breaker and up or down to the outlet. I was looking at a 50 amp buzz box. Got a guy who put in my AC awhile back coming to install it up to code
Sounds like the right idea. Each city has its own code and if you put it in improperly and there would be a fire, ins. could deny claim. Unless your lisc. electrician and are up to what the codes are, it really would be cheaper in the long run to hire it out. Also if the wire is not inside of wall of a garage it has to be in coduit[NEC]

Mac
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:05 AM.

Page generated in 0.08444 seconds with 7 queries