Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 01-20-2004, 10:29 PM
LawnSite Member

How I got here

Well, three years ago in June of 2001, my wife and I closed on our 2nd new house. $260,000. I am an Auto technician at a Chevy Dealer and have been a tech. for 16 years now. She was working for Nortel Networks. (Anybody heard of them?) They handle telephony businesses such as GTE, Bell South, Sprint, etc. We made good money and as I said previously, had a new house, I had a brand new Chevy Z71 extended cab, she had a brand new Nissan Maxima, I had bought my mother a new Chevy Cavalier as a gift and paid cash for it. I also had a new Harley (which I still have). All was well in paradise. Then in February 2002, she got the phone call, she was laid off. Insant $60,000 annual income gone. Unable to find another job even close, we were forced to put our Dream Home up for sale. At $2,000 a month for the mortgage, it didn't take long to empty our savings of nearly $20,000. We had reduced the price of the house to the bare minimum needed to pay it off and still couldn't get a buyer. With $6,000 left to our names, I told her I was finished with the house and we weren't making another payment. I called and met with a Bankruptcy attorney that week and filed for Chapter7. It was the worst day off my life but I had no other choice. Along with losing my house, I also lost my new truck and her car. I took the $6000 and found a rental house for $475 a month. Paid them one year in full and moved in. She started school full time in the fall of that year and is almost finished with a double degree in Dental Assisting and Dental Hygiene. I was going to wait until she finished school to start my business (I am so tired of working on cars) but I found a local equipment company that offered a package deal and they had finance options. So, I finally found someone who would finance my equipment and I bought a 6.5x12 trailer, 52" Exmark Lazer, 48" Gravely WB, Stihl trimmer and blow