Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-25-2004, 09:19 AM
Metro Lawn's Avatar
Metro Lawn Metro Lawn is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Clair Shores, MI
Posts: 2,090
Quote:
Originally posted by chuckwk
We don't need a better server ... our current server is top of the line.

www.moparts.com
__________________
Metro Det. Landscaping Inc.
St. Clair Shores, MI - Lexington, MI
(586) 563-3990
Lawn Service Divisions
Warren - Harrison Twp. - Detroit - Lenox - St. Helen
(586) 634-2904 (313) 885-9090 (989) 443-4380
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-25-2004, 09:30 AM
Tvov Tvov is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CT
Posts: 1,205
I'm not sure if this is related, but for those who are having speed issues, what kind of connection do you have?

We recently got DSL for one of our computers, and that absolutely flies compared with our old computer (which I am using now, and by the way the speed seems fine) which is still on dial-up.

Just curious, because no one has mentioned what kind of connection they have when talking about site "problems".

I've also noticed that recently, more and more websites are going with a lot of extra graphics / banners / ads, which I am assuming (besides $) is because more and more people are starting to have "high-speed" connections.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-25-2004, 09:53 AM
Charles's Avatar
Charles Charles is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 7,138
Nah, it doesnt have much to do with your speed.
I got dialup and sometimes LS is very speedy and then the next minute it is slow/freezes/oops window. Just sporadic. This morning I replied to a post a couple of time and it seemed like forever before it went through. But then the next time I replied it went through fast. I click on the link to get back to the main and it is fast at that or sometimes slow.
It would be slow most of the time if it was the connection you use.
I just cant justify spending 50$ a month for high speed to look up porn and play on a lawn forum(and a little bit more than that) LOL
I am not complaining. I also understand with this type of forum the owner doesnt need to spend a fortune over powering the place.
Just supplying info to the tech on how LS is working for me. The more input, the better he is able to diagnose the problem if there is one.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-25-2004, 10:06 AM
chuckwk's Avatar
chuckwk chuckwk is offline
Founder
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 636
Quote:
Originally posted by Metro Lawn


We don't need a better server ... our current server is top of the line.

www.moparts.com
Correct, we don't need a better server ..... it has the highest quality components installed..... not better, but prolly more of something.. (cpu, ram, raid... ??)

moparts has lots of good info .... but, I don't see how you could think that their forum would have the server load like lawnsite.com ... lawnsite's off-topic forum almost has as many posts as their entire board post total.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-25-2004, 10:34 AM
Soupy's Avatar
Soupy Soupy is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: IL. (St Louis Metro)
Posts: 3,128
Quote:
Originally posted by chuckwk
Correct, we don't need a better server ..... it has the highest quality components installed..... not better, but prolly more of something.. (cpu, ram, raid... ??)

moparts has lots of good info .... but, I don't see how you could think that their forum would have the server load like lawnsite.com ... lawnsite's off-topic forum almost has as many posts as their entire board post total.
Your starting to talk in circles.
__________________


I use Gopher Billing & Scheduling Software
Download your FREE fully functional 30-day
trial here.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-25-2004, 10:46 AM
chuckwk's Avatar
chuckwk chuckwk is offline
Founder
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 636
yea, Im bangin my head up against a board.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-01-2004, 04:07 PM
Critical Care's Avatar
Critical Care Critical Care is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Central Oregon
Posts: 1,654
I would like to suggest to people to use their word processors, such as MS Word, for posting. Use the spell check and then when through writing your post just copy, not cut, the text over to the Post Reply box. If something happens online and your reply gets sent to never never land, you will still have a copy on your word processor. It could save you some anguish and it surely makes sense if you spend a lot of time typing.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-01-2004, 05:07 PM
BSDeality's Avatar
BSDeality BSDeality is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Posts: 2,851
you don't have to do that necessarily. just highlight everything you wrote and hit control - c (copy) and then submit it, if something happens you can just hit control - v (paste) and be on your way
__________________
Matt
Efficiency = Profit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 AM.

Page generated in 0.09046 seconds with 7 queries