Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-27-2004, 04:51 AM
LawnSite Member

New as can be!

Well ive been reading the forums for a few weeks now and I have to say this is the place for info. Great forums and great people. Im going to start a small lawn business part time cause im a Corrections officer full time and I do alot of 4 on 4 off's. I see alot of people talking about the walk behind mowers and the Z machines but what did some of you use to start. Im asking this cause I am going to start with just a ride em mover either a Husqavarna or the goold old sears craftsman to start. Im buying a flatbed trailer and a trimmer and blower. Just starting basics. Im buying used so im not investing alot. So I was just curious about how some people started off and what equipment you used and any funny stories. Is there any other canadians around to yack at too? I live in northern BC!! Hope to hear from some of you.....
Old 02-27-2004, 05:02 AM
LawnSite Member

same here,starting new this season,with a cub cadet 2180,lawn tractor,2 push mowers,back pack blower,and a weed wacker.one man crew!somebody got to ride!! hey i hope you to good!
Old 02-27-2004, 08:09 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

I started with a 36 in walkbehind. If you are serious about the business, I wouldnt start out using home owner equipment. What does a riding mower go for these days? $1500? You can always find used commerical equipment.
Old 02-27-2004, 09:44 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I found a Deere L110 for about 20% off at a local Home Depot and decided to grab it as my startup machine. It has that footpedal to switch from forward to reverse and is a remarkably nimble machine for only $1500. It fits the little trailer I have and I can store everything at home this first year.