Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 02-29-2004, 06:32 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Hello Steve....I have a question for you

I'm new to the application side of this business. I've been studying the posts regarding Primo, and Primo Maxx on here, and was wondering if it's a mistake to use it on a yard that's not free of weeds. I know you don't want to use it on a diseased lawn, but wasn't sure what to expect from a recently acquired lawn account that I hadn't had a chance to control the weeds on yet. I was afraid that the Primo would limit the uptake of the herbicide into the weed. Worse yet. I'm afraid that the stunted grass would be less effective at crowding out the weeds, due to a lack of height.

I'm also wondering if a dosage of less than .75 per M would be legal. My thinking is that if the .75 dosage would allow the lawns to grow enough to still need to be cut weekly, I'd go with that. If I needed to cut the dosage back from .75 (and would not be in conflict with the label), to be able to still cut weekly, I'd be willing to do that. Since I'm paid by the cut, I wanted to have top growth that I'd have to cut weekly, just not excessive growth that would hurt the looks of the lawn, nor slow me down. I'm all ears.

Vic
Old 02-29-2004, 06:34 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Just so you know Steve. Most of my lawns are KBG, and FF, with some PRG. Thanks again.

Vic
Old 02-29-2004, 06:43 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Who is Steve??????
Old 02-29-2004, 06:46 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

LOL..................I have no idea, hope he can help
Old 02-29-2004, 06:56 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

His screen name is Tremors

His real name is Steve

Vic
Old 02-29-2004, 09:18 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Hi Victor,

You'll be OK. Primo might actually reduce weeds slightly due to the increased turf density that will result. You'll still be mowing once a week. But the effect on the turf will be what you might expect from mowing every 4-5 days. A tighter stand of denser turf.