Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-06-2004, 09:50 PM
LawnSite Member

one gate or two ?

Should I buy a trailer with one gate or two? It would cost $150 to add a second gate. I thought it might be easier to unload my 36 walk behind instead of moving my ztr every time I needed just the walk behind.
Old 03-06-2004, 10:22 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I am a solo operator, so I only use one of my mowers at a time, with very few stops where I would need both. I had a 14' with one gate and would always be planning ahead which mower I would need next trying to save time loading and unloading. So I broke down a bought a 18' trailer with two full size gates. It really has helped out with more than just the mowers. I can put my spreader on and off with the mowers loaded cause the side gate is so wide, and other equipment too, like my wheel blower, aerator and such. I can even load my 62" Toro Z in the side gate if I had to. (probably wide enough for a 72" if I had one) I believe you will appreciate a side gate if you get one. I picked up my trailer with electric brakes for $1250 new. Marc
Old 03-06-2004, 10:42 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

You should definately think about going with the side gate
and get it as wide as you can. I wish that I had gotten my
trailer with a side gate now.
Old 03-06-2004, 10:57 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Gilla, same here. In fact, I am going to look into having a side gate added to my 14' pretty soon, now that I have a WB. Sure would be nice. But the real thing that bothers me is placing my ZTR out of harms way when I use the WB. A side gate would help eliminate that concern.
Old 03-06-2004, 11:04 PM
LawnSite Member