Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 03-27-2004, 07:56 PM
LawnSite Member

spray vs. granular

This is my first year doing chemical apps. wanted to know if there was any reason to spray or can i do everything granular?
Old 03-27-2004, 08:31 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Grass Groomer, do you need a pesticide license in Il? If so, are you licensed yet?
Old 03-29-2004, 06:17 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

you can stick to granular for fertilizer and insect controls. Liquid on broadleaf weeds, but you dont need to go out and spend money on a spray tank, just get yourself a back-pac sprayer.

Of course this info is given to you ASSUMING that you are licensed or are about to be licensed!!
Old 03-30-2004, 10:23 AM
LawnSite Member

TSM
My local supplier tells me that I can do broadleaf effectively with granular - is she just trying to sell me something? I cannot recall what the product is without seeing the label. So you think a backpack would be efficient enough? Also is there way for me to know how much overlap I am getting with a backpack? Thank you
Old 03-30-2004, 01:10 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Ask your "local supplier" how much experience SHE has out in the field, and ask her if she is licensed. She is going to give you some shpeel about saying "Oh, yes, Ive used this and that".
Just say. "Oh yeah? What active ingredients worked best for you, and what active ingredients did you find to have a slight decline in performance under dryer conditions.?"
Her conversation will go no farther than the BRAND names that are on the products that she sells. Unless she is a Lesco, or something, I don't see it happening.

Thank you, Dad - for always being the dad that you were. You truly are my hero. You always were.
Old 03-30-2004, 03:15 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

couple of problems with granular weed controls:

hard to keep them on target, they will get into flower beds and do damage