Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-03-2004, 04:36 PM
LawnSite Member

setting up shop

Hello everyone,
Thank you in advance for your time and sharing your experience.
I have 14 years experience in service relatied fields, and I am now entering the lawn care business.
I hope this may be a fun question for you?
I have $7,800.00 in cash and I do not want to borrow for the business in my first year. I have the small hand tools, i.e. shovels, rakes, pruning shears. I have an S10-Blazer with the Tahoe towing package.
The company I work for now puts me incontact with the same business people that will make decisions on lawnscape services. Thus I will focus on mid-sized commercial accounts.
If you lost everything but $7,800.00 and had to start over what specifically (manufacturer/model)would you buy?
A few notes:
I plan to offer mowing, pruning, edging, fertilizing, and mulching. Some residential accounts/ mostly commercial.
My wife will work with me so consider that in equipment choices.
I have bent the ears of anyone who will talk to me on maintenance how-to's (extension offices, botanical gardeners)
I want a ZTR as an old injury would eventually give me problems with a WB even with the sulky.
Again thank you for any advice you may have to offer
Old 04-03-2004, 05:24 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

mid-sized commercial accounts often time necessitate the use of a commercial w/b. it's quite simple to pop the w/b up and over a curb. different story with a ztr. also many mid-sized commercial accounts have steep banks, swales, etc.

if you're planning on doing mostly commercial accounts, get a good blower. you're going to need it. as far as the mower, get an exmark, deere, hustler, dixie chopper, the difference between most major brand ztr's is often times minute and a matter of preference. because of this, a good dealer in a good location may be an important factor in your decision.