Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-12-2004, 10:21 PM
LawnSite Member

Choosing the right equipment

I'm new to this,so please bear with my crazy questions.
First off, I live in a fairly large sub-development(100 to 175 homes) where the average yard is about 10,000 to 12,000 sq.ft. The front yards are bermuda sod with the back yards seeded fescue.
I would really like to ride instead of walk. Would an exmark 48" lazer z hp be to big for this app?or would a great dane 42"ss be a better choice? or maybe a wright stander 42"
My next big question is would $25.00 to $35.00 per yard be a fair price?
I am planning on doing this part time only. I work a 4 day on, 4 day off schedule.

Thanks for your help,
B.T.
Old 04-13-2004, 08:40 AM
LawnSite Member

Testing.......... Testing........ Just want to see if this reply button works?
Old 04-13-2004, 08:49 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Just remember that some houses might have gates to get into the back yard, so plan for that. Bigger is better, if you can get to the yard. I run a 42" Walker most times, which fit thru all gates, and have a switchable deck so I can mow 74" for large lots. The price depend on you overhead, or what your bussiness plan says you need to cover your costs ( drive time, fuel, lics. fees. insurance, etc) You will get a vary opion on here, as everyone sets up there bussiness a little different. Just don't sell yourself short. Best of luck, hope you do well
Old 04-13-2004, 08:50 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Would you be bidding on all the houses as a package, or are you just describing the area? I'd say that price sounds about right, if they'll pay it. I don't have much experience with the riders, but have heard good things about the Great Dane's from people around me. No experience myself though, so just take this as word of mouth.