Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 04-24-2004, 04:03 PM
LawnSite Member

wanting to go legit!

Guys and Gals,

I have been mowing for about 2 years part-time but it was not a legit business. Not very big, a few yards for xtra cash. But now I want to go all the way with it. However, in doing the math, it seems almost impossible to make a good profit. I know that I will need to hire help. But how do you hire help before you have the customers/income and how do you get the income with the additional help?

There are so many costs associated with a legit business. Such as Taxes, licenses insurance, employees salaries, xtra equipment/supplies.

So, my main question is how do I do make this business a success while making a good living? I'm thinking around 5-6k/month for my salary.

Thanks,

Bamafire1
Old 04-24-2004, 08:26 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

YOu dont. STAYAS FAR AWAY FROM LAWN CARE AS YOU CAN!

Trevor
Old 04-24-2004, 09:16 PM
LawnSite Member

Thanks Bud. I appreciate both the honesty and sarcasm. However, I posted this question in the "Just Starting in Business" forum which, is the correct area for advice on subjects such as this. I was actually looking for constructive advice to assist me in building a successful business. If you have any such advice I would respectfully listen.

Bamafire1
Old 04-27-2004, 05:23 PM
LawnSite Member

Go legit without hiring help for a few years to set some money back and gain larger accounts. No since in hiring/sharing money unless you have to.
Old 04-27-2004, 05:24 PM
LawnSite Member

sorry about my english.....sense
Old 04-27-2004, 06:32 PM
LawnSite Member

Bama,

Can you cut in TN all year round or is there a dry period?

Your best bet is to get 40 hours a week of work for yourself then hire a part timer to work a day here or there.

You can call around for insurance rates.
Old 04-29-2004, 07:17 AM
LawnSite Member