Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 04-28-2004, 11:00 PM
LawnSite Platinum Member

First 2 days on PG Ultra.. observations....

First I'd like to point out I don't do fert / chemicals for a living, I mow for a living and do the chemicals as add-ons.

I've strictly used Lesco's Dimension 19-0-6 granular, about 2000 lbs, give or take 1 or 2.

Now, with that out of the way...

Anyways, I've done 500,000 sq. ft in the last 2 days (8 engine hours).

I haven't had of the holes stick shut yet, I've had very minimal dust buildup. I realize that this would most likely be attributable to the fertilizer itself, that's what it was stated earlier.

The second bag that I used, I did have a problem with the holes plugging, but it was a bag that had been sitting in the back of my truck for a week, and had gotten damp from rain over the weekend. The bag is plastic, Lesco's fert. I believe is all plastic bags now, but it was still slightly clumpy. Once again I deemed this as my fault for using slightly sticky fertilizer.

One thing that I do have a problem with, and was wondering if anyone else has this issue.... I've run out of gas 2-3 times, each time after running out, before it'll run smooth, I've got to fill the tank all the way up, then shut the GAS off and run it full choke until it burns up the gas in the line. Then I can turn the gas back on, start it and it runs fine. Must be getting air in the fuel line???

The other little nit-picky thing I've got, is I wish the deflector, throw of the fertilzer was the other side. Since I mow, I "go around" my properties the opposite direction that I have to go with the deflector down on the PG. If it was the opposite side, I could travel my properties the same direction, and I'd already know in the back of my mind where to duck.

I've already turned the squirt bottle holder into a "flag-stick" holder with some PVC pipe and a little pouch to hold flags.