Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 06-23-2004, 11:57 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

First Experiance With Edger!

Well I went out today and purchased a Stihl edger because I have been having requests for edging. I decided to go and try it on an old empty house with a large amount of overgrowth on the sidewalk. Lets just say I need to get some practice. I am not good at using this thing especially with a lot of overgrowth. Should the blade be making light contact with the curb at all times creating small sparks? How long do the blades last? I am supposed to be edging my first lawn in 2 days and it is a very nice lawn. I will lose the account if I screw it up. Please give me any advice you can on using this thing.

Thanks...
Old 06-24-2004, 02:55 AM
LawnSite Gold Member

A few sparks are OK. If the edge has not been done before than it will take a while to get it cut in. I have a big B&S 4hp edger for first time jobs. I use the stick for maintenance only. If that is all you have than take it slow and make many passes. Start straight up and down and make a pass to cut off the grass that is covering the sidewalk. If there is a lot, than you may want to sweep that up so it is out of the way. On your second pass go a little deeper and start to make the cut in the dirt. When I edge I tilt the edger so the top of the blade tilts out at the top just slightly ( to the grass) and the bottom of the blade will just scrape the concrete a tad. After a week or two you will just fly down the edge and you should not spark to much any more.
I do not edge much, only about 20 of my customer have concrete, the rest are asphalt or stone, but just over 2800 feet of edging a week and I put a new blade on each week.
Edging will give that finished-manicured look, I have picked up a few jobs because of that. The last guy did not do it.
Old 06-24-2004, 10:37 PM
LawnSite Member