Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 06-25-2004, 03:05 AM
LawnSite Member

Kawasaki 12.5 fb460v wont stay running...

Hi im new to lawnsite and im posting because i have just dismounted a kawasaki fb460v 12.5 hp engine off of an 1989 john deer sx95 rear engine riding lawn mower and i remounted the engine on my 1962 Snapper comet rear engine rider. Well i tryed to start it and it would not start even with the choke on so i put some gas down the carb and it started for a few seconds and shut off, now that the engine is not hooked up to the john deere i had to bypass certain safety switches such as the nueatral start switch and the seat switch, and it works. Sometimes it will start and run until you shut the key switch off and when i try to start it back up it would not start, so is it the fuel pump or something in the carb.

Thanks in advance
Old 06-25-2004, 11:16 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

Does this engine have a fuel solenoid on the carb? If so how is it wired up to the Snapper?
Old 06-26-2004, 02:53 AM
LawnSite Member

yes it does have a fuel solenoid on the carb, and it is wired through the origional wiring harness that came off the old john deere sx 95
Old 06-26-2004, 11:52 PM
LawnSite Silver Member