Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-27-2004, 08:04 AM
Victor's Avatar
Victor Victor is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,635
ZTR spray rig?

I have my ZTR spray rig all set up except for my agitator system. I have a 3/4" pipe thread on my tank that I need to run an agitator to. Would any of you guys know where to get an agitator that would work with that size inlet to my tank and how would you plumb, or attach the agitator to the tank? Thanks for the help.

I need to install an agitator to help my sprayer maintain a steady spray pressure. When I try to use the spray rig right now, The pump builds up pressure quicker than my spray nozzles can bleed pressure off. What winds up happening is the pump builds up to shut off pressure and momentarily shuts off. The nozzles then have a chance to bleed the pressure down enough for the pump to turn back on again and then the cycle repeats itself over and over again. Consequently, instead of a steady spray pattern, I'm getting a pulsating spray pattern. I figure that if I had an agitator installed, it would bleed enough pressure off the system so that the pump wouldn't shut off.

Just so you know. I'm using a North Star 26 gallon tank that Northern Tool sells.

Vic

Last edited by Victor; 06-27-2004 at 08:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2004, 10:10 AM
voeg voeg is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: KS.
Posts: 15
Victor, I put a tee in my line after the pump with a valve and a hose on it that returns to the tank. This helps act as an agitator, and I turn the valve down to where the pump is always on and I am getting 30lbs of pressure to my nozzles. Dan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2004, 10:38 AM
Victor's Avatar
Victor Victor is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,635
Thanks Dan

I really do appreciate the help. I'll stop by my local TSC to get the supplies to do that, so I can finish setting up the rig today.

I also need to space my nozzles out further , so that their patterns don't overlap. I read on the Momentum label that overlapping it during application is not recommended. I'll probably make a separate boom that I'll be able to install strictly for Momentum apps.

Vic
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2004, 10:44 AM
voeg voeg is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: KS.
Posts: 15
Victor, here's how mine looks. Dan
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2004, 11:22 AM
Victor's Avatar
Victor Victor is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,635
Wow Dan

I like your set up. You have the same tank that I have. I'm not sure what pump you're running, but I bought a 3GPM Shurflo.

What pump and nozzles are you running? The tees and fittings I see in your pic look like garden hose fittings. I love the fact that you can shut off flow with the internal valves that the garden hose tee has built into it.

I'm also looking at that big diameter intake hose that pulls chemical solution out of your tank. My tank came with a small 3/8" draw tube (that feeds my pump) coming out of it. Did your tank come with a draw tube that big, or did it come with a small one and you just replaced it?

Sorry about all the questions, but I love your set up.

Vic
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-27-2004, 12:26 PM
voeg voeg is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: KS.
Posts: 15
Victor, thanks for the compliment. This is just for my personal use. I am using a Shurflo 1.8 gal. pump. It is plenty to supply the hand wand or the spray bar on the back that has 3 Delavan 00073-1004 nozzles that put out .26 gpm. at 30 psi. each. The nozzles are 18 in. high and spaced 20 in apart. I have it mounted on a 44 in. Hustler Fastrak, so I can cover almost 5 ft. at a swath. I have a 1/2 in. hose feeding the pump[black hose] and it came that way. I got mine from Atwoods, but bought most of the fittings from TSC.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-27-2004, 02:05 PM
Victor's Avatar
Victor Victor is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,635
Thanks again for the info Dan. I can't wait to get mine set up!

Vic
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-27-2004, 08:49 PM
specialtylc specialtylc is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Washington state, eastsider
Posts: 1,652
You need to have a presure regulator and a return bypass line. The return line is the agitation.
__________________
KUBOTA/HUSTLER User
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2004, 10:01 PM
Victor's Avatar
Victor Victor is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,635
Thanks for the info guys

I plumbed in the bypass return line, hooked up the reg and gauge, and it works great! I've got two Turfjet .5 GPM nozzles on the boom right now. My pressure is set to 30 like you guys recommended. I'm getting a good, strong, consistant pattern now. From what I've seen, I'm probably going to be better off with close to 1 GPM nozzles like Dan has on his rig. If nothing more than to be able to put down product at the same rate as I can now, but while going faster.

Vic
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-27-2004, 10:59 PM
cantoo cantoo is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,923
Victor, I have the same type of pump on my sprayer. I took the red wire off the pump switch and wired it direct to the pump. The pump now runs all the time and I use my regulator to allow the excess to pump back into the tank. It works much better now and likely isn't as hard on the motor.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 AM.

Page generated in 0.10640 seconds with 8 queries