Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 09-15-2004, 04:03 PM
LawnSite Member

F-350 Brakes

Hi guys

I'am going back into landscaping this fall doing mainly clean ups (brush and rubbish) which I have been doing but I got out of landscaping for about 5 months. My current truck which is a 89 Ford F-Superduty (F-450) is bagged I need to replace it. I have been debating for month or so I would like to have a 4x4 for some jobs I do and recreational purposes. To have 4wheeldrive means going to a F-350 I don't want to spend big bucks to buy a 99 or newer F-450 4x4.

My last F-350 which was a 80 2wd its brakes were terrible put more than 3000lbs on the truck and you had poor braking power and the truck only grossed 9800lbs with that load. I went to a 88 F-Superduty 4 years ago the brakes were great gross the truck to 15,000lbs brakes were still good. I sold the 88 bought a diesel 89 F-Superduty it hauls and stops good and gets better mileage.

Good braking power is really important in my books its enough to give up 4wheeldrive for as I spend 80% on highway and easy jobs that don't need 4x4. If I max the gvw on a F-350 to 12,000lbs and it has troubles stopping I may not want to deal with that again. You have to keep in mind the hills we have here are 10-12 percent grades so they are long and steep.

When I'am hauling rubbish I nowhere near max out the truck usually 2000lbs at the most when I haul topsoil the loads get in the 4000lb-5000lb range.
I'am not maxing out a F-Superduty by anymeans with a tare weight of 7800lbs add 4000lbs of payload the truck grosses 11,800lbs still have 3200lbs of gvw left so lots of braking power left.

Now with a F-350 I know I never will get the tare weight of a diesel F-350 4x4 down below 7000lbs like my 1980 will probably weigh 7500lbs empty put 4000lbs on the truck is close to max gvw. I'am wondering if the truck will have any braking power with a 4000lb load of topsoil ?