Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 10-10-2004, 01:32 AM
LawnSite Member

overseeding

I am a little new at this but was curious when overseeding do you throw a starter fertilizer down after the overseed>?right after or a week after?or never?and what is a good fert to use?
Old 10-10-2004, 09:11 AM
LawnSite Member

Some say fertilize before, some during, and some after. I always fertilize
and seed the same time to keep from making to trips. Actually my expert
opinion is to amend the soil before you sow the seed.
Old 10-10-2004, 09:26 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

usually starter fert is applied before seeding. This is to correct the Phosphorus levels of the soil. Phosphorus helps rooting and seed establishment.

But you should be fine putting it down right after you seed as a 'top dressing'

But.. You should take a soil sample though, since PH levels affect Phosphorus availability. Soils too acidic or too akeline can form insoluble P compounds.
Old 10-10-2004, 03:12 PM
LawnSite Member

thank you very much for that info mkroher.I think we are going to roundup the whole lawn first also....will that affect my ph?and what will i have to do to get redy for overseed after that?can i aerate right over the dead stuff and overseed?
Old 10-10-2004, 03:22 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

are you talking about 'overseeding' , or 'renovation'?

If you want a brand new lawn, you don't want to aerate it. When you aerate, the holes made by the plugs are too deep, and when you seed, the seed falls in the hole. It won't germinate. Aeration is to fix compacted soil, lets air, water and nutrients to enter easier. It also helps reduce thatch, since there's more air/water flow to help decompose the dead stuff (thatch).