Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 10-16-2004, 05:51 PM
LawnSite Member

Crew size???

I am extremely new to lawn maintenance, although ran a tree trimming business for some family for the past two years. My question is how does one justify running a four man crew when you can only expect to see $30 or so from the yard. I work in a smaller city of around 75k people and stay pretty busy, but when you have to pay your guys 10 minutes between each job at atleast $6 an hour thats only $6 an hour in profit. I know you can get jobs done faster in theory, but how do you justify the drive time or work around it? Any help is appreciated.
Old 10-16-2004, 06:19 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

2 guys can mow 3 yards an hour x 8 hour day = 24 yards. Now figure how much you will profit
Old 10-16-2004, 08:49 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

For $30 laws, crew size shoulkd only be 2 guys. Unless your lawns exceed 1/2 acre w/ multiple lawns at a stop, there is no need for larger than a 2 man crew.
Old 10-16-2004, 08:56 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

4 guys work great for 10 acres or more and for commercial properties as long as you have a crew cab
Old 10-16-2004, 09:15 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by stexasrookie
I am extremely new to lawn maintenance, although ran a tree trimming business for some family for the past two years. My question is how does one justify running a four man crew when you can only expect to see $30 or so from the yard. I work in a smaller city of around 75k people and stay pretty busy, but when you have to pay your guys 10 minutes between each job at atleast $6 an hour thats only $6 an hour in profit. I know you can get jobs done faster in theory, but how do you justify the drive time or work around it? Any help is appreciated.