Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 12-01-2004, 11:09 AM
LawnSite Member

Old SCAG - Hydro Maint & New Deck??

Hello All,
I'm new to posting on the forum. I've been reading for a while though. I just purchased a well-used 52" SCAG hydro for a song from a big shop moving to a bigger location and getting rid of all used equip for next to nothing.

Anyway, I'm new to the Hydro drive scene, I've been using a 36" SCAG beltdrive. This is an older guy, it doesn't have the SCAG 'Dashboard'. It has a KAW 17HP twin, it starts easy and runs strong, the clutch engages and the blades turn with a windy roar, the hydros drive the wheels.

What can I expect with older Hydro Pumps and Hydro Motors? Do they require maintainence? Can they be 'rebuilt'? I've sniffed around a bit and see them for $300 - $500 here and there. On my Belt drive I know what to expect, if the tranny goes bad, I'm back up and running in 2 hours and $200.

The Motors are really dry all around them, no leaking as far as I can see. The pumps have some fluid on them on the back side, is this normal?

Here's a few pics:

We have a couple of great mowing shops here in town but I try to do as much work as I can.

If someone can give me the 30 second tour I'd appreciate it. I'm sure I'll find out much more as I tinker with it over the winter. I can use this guy on about 1/3 of my accounts (due to backyard access) to save some time and want to keep it running with dropping a ton of cash.

Also, the deck is pretty rough.

I know I can order one for about $900. Is there a chance of getting hold of a 48" or 52" deck from a mower being 'parted' out? Are used (but in good shape) replacement decks a possibility or should I just run this one? New spindles (if needed) don't freak me out, I can get those going fairly cheap.

Thanks for reading, any help is apppreciated.
Old 12-01-2004, 03:20 PM
LawnSite Senior Member