Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 12-04-2004, 12:42 PM
LawnSite Member

Young pup, need help from older dogs

This is my second post. The first one don't think it went through.

Ive been mowing 6 yards for 3 years in my developement. Next year I am venturing outside the neighborhood boundaries with some advertizing. I got insured. Bought a JD 485 60" tractor. (WHAT AM I THINKING $$$$!!!!)

My question is, what should I be charging if a yard takes me an hour from the time I arrive until the time I finish? Should I charge my neighbors less since they are my neighbors? I really cant afford any discounts after buying the Deere! Can any of you older dogs help this young pup?
Old 12-04-2004, 01:23 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

The fact that it takes you an hour really isn't the biggest issue. I'm not familar with the JD Tractor you bought but if it is a Lawn Tractor type mower as I suspect it will take you a longer cutting time than a 60" Commerical ZTR will and probably even longer than a similar WB would even take because of the slower ground speed and the huge turning radius a lawn tractor takes. So what I am saying is I might be able to cut the same exact property with one of our ZTR's in 20 minutes say. To be correct and to get customesr what you will price by is the lawn's sq footage not only how long it takes you using that equipment. You need to see what others seem to be charging for similar props in your town.

A friend of mine has a trophy wife……..apparently she wasn’t 1st place though

...Amateurs built the Ark but professionals built the Titanic...

...YOU CAN'T FIX STUPID...

Last edited by MMLawn; 12-04-2004 at 01:27 PM.
Old 12-04-2004, 01:44 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMLawn
what you will price by is the lawn's sq footage not only how long it takes you using that equipment. You need to see what others seem to be charging for similar props in your town.