Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 12-17-2004, 10:17 PM
LawnSite Member

When are apartment community bids usually taken?

I'm actually a CPA 3 years out of college and a friend of mine and I are looking to start our own landscaping business in one of the fastest growing counties in the nation. I don't have a passion for what I'm doing and I am very passionate about starting a landscaping business from scratch. My friend and I have over 10 years each of landscaping while growing up and in college. We know that it's tough work, but our goal is to grow the business gradually over five years. We want to get some guaranteed contracts before we quit our jobs altogether. Any ideas.
Old 12-18-2004, 12:36 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Why do you want to start off with apartment buildings? There is a lot of mistakes if you want to start off with apartment buildings, start off with residential 1st then move on to commercial sites when you are ready..
Old 12-18-2004, 01:12 AM
LawnSite Gold Member

Most commercial properties want someone who is established, they usually ask for references. Not likely that you'll land an apartment complex your first year in business. Never hurts to try though, I would contact a few now and see when and if they are looking for new bids.
Old 12-18-2004, 01:21 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Most apartment buildings are managed by property management companies, if you call around and talk to a property management company and ask them if you can be on the vendor's list you can bid on commercial properties..
Old 12-18-2004, 10:50 AM
LawnSite Member

We both want to take home at least $40,000 each in the first year from mowing and landscape maintenance projects. Anyone have any idea how many residential yards this would require and what is the going rate for mulching jobs?
Old 12-18-2004, 12:41 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by cgreiwe