Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-05-2005, 12:44 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Tell Your Story (HOW IT ALL STARTED)

I have been doing lawn maintenance and landscaping for about 10 years now.
It all started in may of 1997 i took a job at Woodloch pines resort. At the time i started working for them there were 3 crews of 5 men that would go out everyday and take care of the grounds 2 crews to the private community which had about 250 homes and one crew to the resort. As the resort/community grew there was room for advancement. I was always the kind of guy that was there 10min. before i was to start each day. I was always willing to do extra. I was always in uniform/clean cut. When there was need for another crew/crew leader i was given the chance to run the crew. Soon the community had 350 homes and 3 crews of 5 men to take care of it. We did everything lawn maintenance, mulching, pruning, tree removal,firewood,snowplowing/shoveling. ( I ran the crew for six years
and always did the best job that i could) And in the year 2000 the company started to cut back on the help and soon we had 3 crews of 3 men to take care of 350 homes plus common areas. We just could not do the kind of job we use to do. We were told by our boss to take shortcuts and to stop doing some things all together. So this went on for a few years and the community really did not look like it did when i started in 1997. In my area there were about 30 rental homes. In September 2003 Woodloch was getting the ball rolling on there multi-million dollar spa project. They had some investors staying in the rental area that were not happy with the looks of the grounds
and they did not know if this was were they wanted to invest there money.