Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-14-2005, 06:15 PM
LawnSite Member

Question for you experts.............

My neighbor and I are debating whether or not to aerate our lawns right now because we're anticipating some irrigation problems come summer time given our poor snow fall this year. Our lawns are two years old and we have pretty compact soil. I was going to wait until this fall to do it, but if we're not going to have as much water available to us this summer I was wondering if it would be beneficial to do this now.

Thanks!
Old 02-14-2005, 08:07 PM
LawnSite Platinum Member

Won't hurt, but your best results are fall and spring. But I don't know what your weather is there.

Mac
Old 02-14-2005, 09:22 PM
LawnSite Member

I'm by no means an expert, but I'm thinking if the soil is compacted you can
aerate anytime during the year, the sooner the better.
Old 02-14-2005, 09:25 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

WHY and HOW have you determined that your soil is that compacted that you need to aereate it?

RARELY do lawns need to be aerated!
Old 02-14-2005, 09:32 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyWebb
My neighbor and I are debating whether or not to aerate our lawns right now because we're anticipating some irrigation problems come summer time given our poor snow fall this year. Our lawns are two years old and we have pretty compact soil. I was going to wait until this fall to do it, but if we're not going to have as much water available to us this summer I was wondering if it would be beneficial to do this now.

Thanks!
you need to track down five diamond lawns, hes from your area and knows all about the soil conditions, 1st guy i've ever heard of that aerates 6mos. of the year.
Old 02-14-2005, 09:36 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norm Al
WHY and HOW have you determined that your soil is that compacted that you need to aereate it?

RARELY do lawns need to be aerated!