Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 03-01-2005, 05:38 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Breakout force?

OK, what is it?

From what I understand, Xing isn't even sure what it is, or just can't quite understand how the number is derived (from what I remember of a ROC thread)?

Why does every manufacturer list it if the "average Joe" operator doesn't know what it is? I understand that the bigger the number, the better it is, but past that, it's no good to me.... I've been running equipment for several years and still have yet to figure it out.

Any help/thoughts would be much appreciated!

Dan
Old 03-01-2005, 07:17 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

The break out force is the amount of force the machine generates curling the bucket up (skid steers). Many factors come into play. On skid steers, the size of the bucket or more specifically the length of the lip plays a major part in the force a machine is able to generate. The longer the lip (the further the distance from the tilt cylinders to the end of the bucket) the less force that it can generate. What type of bucket is used to achieve the published numbers, I don't know. I would imagine the shortest lip bucket the machine can be equipped with. Other factors that influence it is mounting geometery of the quick tach, mounting geometery of tilt cylinders and hydraulic pressure. My "theory" is this once the amount of breakout overcomes the amount of force needed to pull the rear of the machine off of the ground, you have reached a point of diminished return on breakout.